top of page

"Carla's Glasses" By Debbie Herman

I am SO excited to share this amazing book, and celebrate Flashlight Press' 20th anniversary of publishing with a GIVEAWAY!

From September 15-30, 2024


Carla's Glasses has quickly become a favourite in our house, and our daughter has requested to read it again, and again... and again! We love Carla- she is so confident, unique, and kind-hearted. She looks out for her friends, and finds creative ways to make them feel special & loved.

We especially loved the illustrations, by Sheila Bailey. They really bring Carla's energy to life, and all the children's personalities and emotions shine bright! Keep an eye out for some really cute classroom pets throughout this story!

Here's a bit about the book, and keep on reading for an interview with the author!

Synopsis: When her teacher announces an upcoming in-school Vision Screening, Carla hopes she WILL need glasses and Buster hopes he WON'T. In eager anticipation, Carla - who loves to be unique - wears a different pair of handmade frames each day, crafted from tin foil, pipe cleaners, cardboard, and glitter. To both Carla's and Buster's dismay, the screening reveals that the only one who needs glasses is Buster. Carla hopes to cheer up her friend, accompanying him to the eye doctor to help him choose frames. They find a pair that suits him well, but Buster is still looking down. They have a meaningful chat in the car where Carla learns that, unlike her, Buster does NOT like to be different; he likes to fit in. But now he'll be the only one in class with glasses. When Carla cooks up a plan, it's clear to see that the power of friendship – and Carla’ s creativity – save the day.

Interview with Debbie Herman 

1. How did you come up with the idea for this story? What inspired you? 

Carla's Glasses is actually a sequel to Carla's Sandwich. In Carla's Sandwich, we meet Carla, a spunky girl who loves to be creative and different. And this is expressed through the sandwiches she makes and brings to school for lunch.

A number of years after Carla's Sandwich was published, I was in an optical shop getting my first pair of glasses. It was a fun shop that specialized in cool and funky frames, and I thought to myself, "Carla would love this place!" I immediately started writing the story in my head.


2. Do you wear glasses?! 

I do wear glasses. For my first pair, I wanted something that wouldn't stand out, but would basically blend in with my face. Then, once I was used to wearing them, I got braver and eventually wanted to go with something bolder, and bought the pair I have now. Who knows how much bolder my next pair will be!

3. If you could design your own super fabulous glasses, what would they look like? 

 

The frames would have the ability to change color. One day I could make them red, one day blue. That way I could match them to different outfits. It would be like having a new pair of glasses each day!


4. How did you connect with your illustrator, and come up with these characters? 

In trade publishing, the publishing company chooses the illustrator, not the author. In fact, many companies won't let authors weigh in at all regarding the art. But Shari Greenspan, Flashlight Press's editor, wasn't like that. When I asked if I could be involved in the illustrator-selection process, to make sure I liked the illustration style, she said yes. And she shared illustration samples with me as they came in. When we saw Sheila Bailey's quirky style, we both agreed she'd be perfect for the story! And Sheila did not disappoint. She did wonderful illustrations for Carla's Sandwich and outdid herself with Carla's Glasses!

5. We loved the class pets in the story!! Anything you’d like to share about them? 

 

The pets were Sheila's idea. She always adds fun details to a story. I especially love Carla's cat! You'll see the cat in both Carla's Glasses and Carla's Sandwich.


6. About me:

I love creating: whether it's writing, drawing, making videos, designing T-shirts, or inventing my own "Carla's Glasses."


7. Writing tips:

a. Read, read, read. If you want to write a mystery, read mysteries. If you want to write a picture book, read picture books. By reading, you get a feel for the language, so your own words and ideas flow. Reading can give you inspiration. The more you read, the better you‘ll write.

b. Keep your eyes and ears open. Train yourself to ask, “Is there a story there?”

c. Listen to stories relatives tell about their childhoods.

d. If you’re writing for kids, just go back in time and remember your own childhood: What was it like? What did you do? How did you view things? If you can put yourself in the mind of a kid, you can write for kids.


Thanks again to Flashlight Press & Author Debbie Herman for sharing this book with us, and allowing us to host this EXCITING giveaway!

*Find it on https://www.instagram.com/mrsmakesreadingfun/ from September 15-30- I have the pleasure of giving away TWENTY copies of this amazing picture book. Open to US residents only. 


1 Comment


karenkovach
a day ago

Looking forward to reading this book! Thanks for the great tips too!

Like
bottom of page