top of page

Author Interview: Mama's Love Language

Updated: 5 days ago

With author Elisa Stad



I was so thankful to have the chance to interview Elisa and chat with her about her beautiful book, Mama's Love Language.


Is this your first book?

Yes, Mama's Love Language is my first published book, it was a project that took some years to come to life.   My 11 year old son is the one that kept encouraging me to publish and share with the world. 


 

How much of this book is inspired by your own life and experiences?

I grew up in a mixed-race household as a daughter of a Vietnamese refugee mother and an American father. My search for identity was intense, having been raised in a multicultural home, and it was my lifelong dream to write a book to share with young children the beauty of humanity and how we can celebrate our unique gifts.   Jade is a representative of my childhood.  


How did you connect with the illustrator?

Being new to the process and knowing I wanted to self-publish and I was referred to Upwork by another children’s author friend of mine.  It connected professionals in illustration and I met Ry Menson. 


I was moved by Ry Mensons depiction of Jade.  As Jade couldn't come to life without the images that Ry put into this book and I hope you can notice the detail of the imagery to paint a clear picture of Jade’s story.

 

How would you encourage young readers to embrace their uniqueness?

I want young children to be encouraged to embrace being different. Being different is special and understanding that each child is unique in their way is what makes every child. Every individual has his/her own mission to share their talent, kindness, and hope to the world.  My goal is that children learn from Jade and embrace the diversity of their friends, family, and self.  We can show love to others in our own unique way.  Embracing your own difference and accepting those around you. 


I encourage my audience (kids, educators, parents)  to have a conversation with their families and neighbors to learn more about culture. Often we don't know about our parents before we were born. We learn through stories, food and lineage. 

 

What is your love language? 

My love language is affection and kindness. A warm embrace and sincere eye contact.  I love hugs!


What are your favorite foods now?

I love pho. It is the best comfort food when you are sick or need extra love, it always makes me feel better. 

 

Will you write other books?

Yes, there will be new books in the future. 

 

Anything else you want readers to know? 

Every person has a purpose and value, especially with the youngest readers to help their self identity and potential. 



To purchase on Amazon: https://a.co/d/9JWxzbd





bottom of page